BTT – Back Twist Two Knitting Tutorial

It took me a while to decipher the instruction from Barbara Walkers’ A Treasury of Knitting Patterns the BTT  Back Twist Two stitch.  I was making the Twist Zigzag (Chapter: Twist Stitches, p. 119)  swatch for the Walker Treasure Project and wanted to follow the directions as closely as possible so I could faithfully reproduce the swatch.

I did some web searches and could not find any helpful information for this stitch exactly the way Mrs. Walker has instructed and after some trial and error I believe I figured it out.

Here is my interpretation of the twist stitch.  I wish the pictures were a little better, I will update this page if I can get better results with my camera.

If you want more information you can reach me at Ravlery.

BTT – Back Twist Two is a left leaning twist stitch with the “1st” stitch over the “2nd” stitch 
 
Step 1: Insert the needle from back to front BETWEEN the 1st and 2nd stitch 
 
 
Step 2: Bring needle around and knit the stitch
 
 
 
Step 3:  This was the part I had to figure out.  After you have knit the 2nd stitch do NOT bring the yarn all the way forward, but instead wrap around between the stitches to the back of the work.
 
 
Step 4:  Knit the 1st stitch (this is the easy part!)
 
 
Step 5:  Slip both stitches off the needle.  Viola!  A BTT twist!
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment